As well as making money, business also have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

Few subjects are as likely to provoke controversy as besides making money, enterprises also need to have public obligation. In my opinion, maximizing profits is the top of priority for each company, I agree that businesses should include social responsibilities in their operations.

On the one hand, there are some benefits for society as a whole when firms make an effort to increase profits. Firstly, such enormous is that government could levies taxes from the immense revenue of companies. As the consequence, political leaders have a larger budget to invest in indispensable fields including education and healthcare, which leads to improving the quality of life for the community. Secondly, by generating gigantic profits, entrepreneurs have the opportunity to grow their business. A good example of this case is that firms might use their capital to expand their production, create more jobs for society.

On the other hand, enterprises have an obligation to act for the benefit of society at large. Perhaps the strongest reason of this is that companies bring gravely harm to the environment. There is no doubt that without controls, the activities of businesses may result in serious environmental degradation such as global warming stems from factory emissions or companies discharge chemical wastes into rivers instead of installing waste treatment systems. Another reason is that enterprises should help those who are less fortunate to enhance their public image, since they have enough money to do this. Big corporations such as TH True Milk and Ford have philanthropic actions such as providing scholarships and giving charitable donations could be taken as a particularly salient example of this.

It is therefore safe to say, considering all the factors given, that making profits is the fundamental principle of business, also, all businesses should enhance the overall welfare of society.