As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Apart from generating profits, companies also have to take notice of their impacts on society. From my perspective, I completely agree with this idea as although money plays an essential role in running a business, it is unacceptable if companies blindly make money despite causing harm to the community

On the one hand, our environment is intensely vulnerable because of industrial activities nowadays. In fact, it is no longer strange to see exhaust fume released from big factories into the air or chemical waste discharged to rivers or sea. Because of the extreme competition between manufacturers, people are increasingly speeding up and excessively enlarging their businesses, which leads to a host of detrimental consequences to biodiversity. For example, recently, there have been so many reports about untreated sewage released from a food factory in Vietnam that kills numerous fish and other ocean species in the Mekong river

On the other hand, many businesses are willing to trade integrity for material reasons, therefore, they do countless harm to the community as well as violate many social standards. There is an alarming issue taking place in many countries that companies are blamed to exploit their employees or treat them unfairly, resulting in higher unemployment rates as well as lower living standards among the society. Therefore, companies should also have to consider this factor along with generating money. Moreover, manufacturers also have to ensure the quality of their products, including some criteria such as origin, sanitizing, governmental approvement,.. otherwise, consumers will have to suffer a lot while utilizing low-quality products.

To conclude, it stands to reason that the ultimate aim of any business is their profits, however, I strongly suppose that alongside with making revenues they also have to take social factors into thorough consideration.