As well as making money, businesses also have social responsiblities.

Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the issue that besides earning profit, enterprises should also have social responsibilities remains a source of controversy. While there is a strong case against this viewpoint, I personally think that both profit and public duties are equally important to the development of a company.

On the one hand, there are various reasons why I support the view that it is crucial for a corporation to make money. First and foremost, as long as enterprises earn profit, they can pay taxes which can be used by the governments to invest in public infrastructure and facillities. For example, the authority can spend part of their tax revenue developing healthcare centres and schools, which improves people’s living standards. Moreover, by earning money, companies can alleviate unemployment, which directly contributes to the prosperity and stability of the economy.

On the other hand, I harbor the view that corporations should place great importance on their social responsibilities. Firstly, they should be aware of ecological protection since most of the industrial activities lead to environmental degradation. For instance, businesses can install proper waste treatment systems to stop its detrimental effects on the ecosystem. In addition, enterprises can subsidize the community through charitable donations. It is advisable that companies should donate part of their profit to green campaigns to save threatened and endanger species facing high risk of extinction or build houses for the homeless.

In conclusion, from my perspective, I find that it is important for a company to earn turnover and fulfill social duties at the same time. By doing so, can the company thrive and achieve its well-rounded development.