what are the advantages and disadvantages for children of TV?

Nowadays, because of the popularity of TV in each family, children are using more their time in front of a screen. Some prefer sitting at home and watching their favorite programs to going out for participating outdoor activities. There is a controversy surrounding this whether watching TV is positive for children or if it has more negative effects on them. In this essay, I will consider both of sides and try to draw a conclusion.

Let's begin by looking at the advantages of TV for children. One of the major plus points of effects of TV on children is that there are many entertained and educational programs on TV. On the other words, TV can be considered as one of the greatest forms of entertainment by watching, for example, cartoons, movies, game shows after their hard lessons at school or after finishing their homework. In addition, some programs provide knowledge that helps them broaden their horizons. What I mean by this is that children may learn through subject lecture programs, get the latest news or see something in other parts in the world. Secondly, TV offers impressive visuals which may increase children imagination. For instance, some Vietnamese children have not seen a kangaroo before, but they will still describe this animal exactly if they have watched them on TV such as the wild life world program, cartoons.

Turning to the other side of the argument, spending too much time on TV may lead children to have a lack of doing other things and affect negatively on their health. Many children keep their eyes glued to a TV almost time they are free, even sometimes they do not want to go to school in order to stay at home and hold a remote control as their own. Besides, a significant number of children have a poor eye-sight because of tons of time they sit toward TV and the inadequate distance between their eyes and a TV they keep.

Another issue that may be concerned is that there are some unsuitable programs for children. Actually, some are too young to recognize what is good for them and what they should see. Particularly, If they watch some violent movies or some sex- emotion scene movies soon, their thinkings may develop wrongly and may lead them to imitate many crazy actions like on TV.

All things mentioned, there are both pros and cons in terms of TV for children. In spite of the fact that TV is an excellent tool for entertaining and learning, it may have drawbacks for children's behaviors and ruin their good routine. Personally, I believe that children should be controlled strictly about what they watch and how much time they spend on by their parents to make sure getting more good things TV offers than disadvantages.