In what ways should imports and exports be adjusted to increase your country's efficiency and effectiveness in the world marketplace?

In the era of globalisation, foreign trading has become crucial part to improve country's economy. Correct utilisation of imports and exports can lead a country to its path of prosperity.

First of all, export and import must be balanced to ensure dependency and stability. If import exceeds export, nation goes into debt whilst becomes heavily dependent on others. Vice versa, plethora of export only means poor management of what we earn from other countries to efficiently serve society. It is a waste of resources in this case.

Secondly, exportation should only be national trademark, namely handicrafts or textiles, which can be produced at low cost with labours and materials advantage. This gives not only an edge of in negotiation for setting exporting price but also enhance local images which can be used to promote tourism. The prime example of this is China where labour wage is amongst the lowest in the world. Coupling with its vast lands, major corporations such as Intel, Samsung, Apple etc. compete to build manufacturing lines.

Thirdly, consumable goods should not be one of the primary importing merchandises. The reason is that expendable products are not sustainable. After consumption, we will not have any mean to replenish stock other than importing from outside which will occur repeatedly thus being reliable on other countries. A better choice of importation is technology and human capital. These resources can be multiplied and induce self-manufacturing.

To recapitulate, in the age of fierce competition caused by globalisation, utilising and managing international trading is the only key to achieve effective growth and expansion.