When a country develops its technology, the traditional skills and ways of life die out. It is pointless to try and keep them alive. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, under the impact of the fourth industrial revolution, human life has become more and more comfortable and convenient; however, when high technologies have been equipped and upgraded in all aspects of a nation and its society, the traditional skills and ways of life have been gradually eliminated. Whether maintaining of these old-fashioned skills and lifestyles is beneficial to a country is caused controversy. In my opinion, they are probably old-fashioned but still worth preserving due to several following reasons.

First, old-style works and habits help people have a healthier life. Specifically, without modern gadgets, children have more time to spend on good routine like sports enhancing muscle and stamina instead of stitching their eyes to screens, consuming convenient food and staying up late, which in long term would cause a lot of physical problems such as: weak immune system, obesity, diabetes or cardiovascular diseases.

Next, skills and lifeways in the past support everybody develop soft skills and positive character. For example, when doing something manually, people have more time to share feelings while interacting and discussing how to finish the job faster and perfectly (interpersonal skills), or each individual could learn how to fulfill their role and surpass their ego (teamwork skills). Moreover, a life without high-tech tools and with just simple things, a person, especially kids, could learn many approaches to overcome difficulties or trouble creatively and independently (problem-solving skills) like preparing a simple meal when starving or fixing a wooden toy. Only with a simple lifestyle, a man could grow up completely with a strong self-esteem and the sympathy to everyone.

Unfortunately, old skills and ways of living caused many drawbacks to some people who want to have a dynamic life which require an innovative and fastest method to process a job or a massive productivity; nevertheless, we are hardly busy all time and if job is so stressful and life is too aggressive, gardening or sending a written letter to an acquaintance might relieve our pressures.

In short, evidences show that near-out-date skills and old lifestyles are still beneficial to human life despite the great impact of the automation era. Their positive effects on one’s health or emotional life as well as social skills are indisputable and I believe if using appropriately, technologies to some extent could boost and spread out the value of traditional skills and ways of life.