While people in developing countries are happier than in the past, people in developed countries are less happy. Why? What can be learnt from this?

The fact that developed nations’ rankings have fallen while developing ones’ have risen in the national happiness index in recent decades has been capturing significant public attention. Identifying the reasons behind this pattern could be the key to learning lessons for future improvements.

The main reason individuals in wealthy nations are less happy while those in poorer ones are not relates to how people live. It has been proven that at the backdrop of economic advancements in developing countries, more and more citizens embrace a lifestyle of collectivism, emphasizing social interaction and active engagement among members in neighborhoods. If people partake in joint activities and communicate with friends around, stressors and boredom could be reduced and happiness would be boosted. By contrast, wealthy nations dignify individualism where more people than before especially young generations choose secluded lives with insular hobbies followed by unfrequent interactions with friends or relatives. Consequently, these individuals would be susceptible to serious mental health issues stemming from loneliness including depression and social anxiety, harming their sense of happiness in the long run.

There are an important for both citizens and governments in developed nations to take notes that collectivism lifestyle should be popularized. In order to do so, official authorities should undertake initiatives where social events and meetings in neighborhoods will be organized on a frequent basis to attract residents. Such organizations create opportunities for dwellers to meet and communicate with each other, thereby reducing the lifestyle of seclusion. For example, in many Nordic nations, city councils started to host small gatherings allowing people to share their personal problems with both fellow participants and psychology experts, making them feel less lonely, more mutually understood and satisfied in lives, which are the keys to happiness.

In conclusion, lower levels of happiness are due to modern ways of living. Wealthy nations should learn poorer nations’ lifestyle of communicating with more people around by organizing more social events.