Wild animals have no place in the 21st century so protecting them is a waste of resources To what extent do you agree or disagree
Some people argue that it is pointless to spend money on the protection of wild animals
because we humans have no need for them. I completely disagree with this point of view.
In my opinion, it is absurd to argue that wild animals have no place in the 21st century. I do
not believe that planet Earth exists only for the benefit of humans, and there is nothing
special about this particular century that means that we suddenly have the right to allow or
encourage the extinction of any species. Furthermore, there is no compelling reason why
we should let animals die out. We do not need to exploit or destroy every last square metre
of land in order to feed or accommodate the world’s population. There is plenty of room for
us to exist side by side with wild animals, and this should be our aim.
I also disagree with the idea that protecting animals is a waste of resources. It is usually the
protection of natural habitats that ensures the survival of wild animals, and most scientists
agree that these habitats are also crucial for human survival. For example, rainforests
produce oxygen, absorb carbon dioxide and stabilise the Earth’s climate. If we destroyed
these areas, the costs of managing the resulting changes to our planet would far outweigh
the costs of conservation. By protecting wild animals and their habitats, we maintain the
natural balance of all life on Earth.
In conclusion, we have no right to decide whether or not wild animals should exist, and I
believe that we should do everything we can to protect them.