Wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a waste of resources. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that it is pointless to spend money to wild animals protecting projects because we as humans have no need for them. I completely disagrees with this view.

In my opinion, it is absurd to argue that wild animals play no role in the 21st century. I do not believe that planet Earth exist solely for the benefit of humans. We as other species are heavily dependent on the environment to survival, and there is nothing special about this particular century that means we suddenly have rights to allow or encourage the extinction of any species. Furthermore, there is no compelling reason why we should let wild animals die out. We do not need to exploit or destroy every last square meter of land to feed or accommodate world’s population. Humans and wild animals absolutely could exist side by side.

I also disagree with the idea that conservation programs are wasting our resources and money. Most scientists agree that the protection of natural habitats not only ensures the survival of wild animals, but also are crucial for human survival. For example, rainforests produce oxygen, absorb carbon dioxide and stabilize the Earth’s climate. If we destroy these are, the cost of managing the resulting changes to our planet would far outweigh the cost of conservation. Therefore, by protecting wild animals and their habitats, we could maintain the balance of all life on Earth.

In conclusion, we have no right to decide whether or not wild animals should exist, and I believe that we should do everything we can to protect them.