The world should take steps towards the elimination of fossil fuels, to be replaced by renewable energy. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your opinion.

There is a contention in some circles that humankind ought to take preventative measures to substitute alternative fuels for non-renewable one. Misguided objections notwithstanding, this idea is deserving of praise since using fossil fuels does much harm to environments and national budget.

This writer believes the strongest argument for replacing fossil fuels with alternative energy is that carbon dioxide emitted by fossil fuels results in the greenhouse effect. As a result of the release of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere, the sun's heat is retained over the earth, which leads to global warming issues. It is for that reason major catastrophes such as ice cap melting, the rise of sea levels and flooding coasts will occur more frequently throughout the world. Perhaps an agenda of imposing a levy on fossil fuels emissions is needed to encourage people to use renewable energy, for instance, solar and wind power.

Another key component of the case for the energy replacement is that fossil fuels' waste is a burden to national budgets. It is essential to understand that after burned, fossil fuels release a variety of pollutants which can have bad impacts on living surroundings. For that reason, governments use a large amount of national budgets for appropriate actions such as sewage and industrial waste treatment. Perhaps the case of Vietnam is most germane here, as in 2013, Vietnamese Government spent a quarter of its income for sewage treatment only.

Those who hold the opposite point of view claim that fossil fuels should be continually used as main sources of energy. Yet this way of thinking neglects to understand that possibilities of suffering a shortage of fossil fuels are inevitable. It is also clear that renewable energy is potential substitute for non-renewable one due to its massive quantity and safety for use. Therefore, measures should be taken to develop renewable energy and reduce people's reliance on fossil fuels.