Write about the following topic.

Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular.

Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The idea of purchasing daily use items online has been widespread in our contemporary world, from purchasing books, or booking of tickets to groceries deliveries. Despite some obvious disadvantages of online shopping, its significant advantages do outweigh them.

Online shopping has revolutionized our traditional way of shopping things, now, with one click we can order anything we like by sitting at our homes or we even can compare the prices of same items sold by different companies. Thus also providing us the option of ordering/booking at lower prices or perhaps something expensive for a better quality/brand. Buying things this way helps in saving time and effort, and that too with ease at home. For instance, in the 19th century, if someone had to buy something or book a ticket, the person has to walk and wait in the long queues for their turn. Whereas, now this can be done just with the expense of a click. Online also opened up a huge market or business models for people who cannot afford to buy a shop/showroom to sell their products, which in turn has also generated a lot of employment opportunities.

However, every coin has its two sides. As much as this mode of shopping facilitated the humans they are becoming more and more lazy. It is also seen that people are now spending more money online than they do earlier, on things that they do even use, this shows that how can online shopping be bad for your budget. In addition to this, there is also an even bigger con to it, online scams and frauds. As the craze of online shopping is booming, so does this. Hackers or frauds can make a fake website clone, which can be used to steal customers' payment information or personal details. But the regulating authorities are now improving their sites' firewalls and spreading awareness that can prevent from these mishappenings to happen.

Taking everything into the consideration, online shopping over the internet has proved its boon to humankind. Regardless of all the cons, which can be removed by awareness and precautions, the vastness of its pros cannot be ignored.