Write about the following topic:

Most major cities around the world continue to grow at a phenomenal rate due to the massive increase in population. This has led to a general decline in the quality of life in city areas as the environment becomes more crowded and polluted.

Give some reasons why this growth has occurred and suggest some practical solutions to this problem.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Write at least 250 words.

These years, the gallop in the human population has instigated rapid outbreaks of megacities, which results in the degradation of nature and later, triggers off a nosedive in the quality of life. Many factors have purportedly prompted this propensity and caused unexpected repercussions.

Firstly, the rocketing demand for shelter, food, and beverages is to blame for the abrupt shift. It accelerates deforestation with rapid velocity as the need for more space for new residents soars under the pressure of urban sprawl. So far, a study has shown that the speed of afforestation can not catch up with that of its counterpart, rendering the deficiency of tree supplies. The lack of natural fauna decimates wildlife brutally since they can be poached or even killed on the street for their fur, ivory, et cetera. Moreover, the diminution of plants also excretes more CO2 into the air, aggravating climate change and wreaking havoc on the quality of our life.

Secondly, more people flocking to major cities also intensify the exploitation of natural resources. Gas, copper, zinc, and the like are already on the verge of scarcity: if urbanization resists, these non-renewable sources will likely go extinct. Not only does the increase in dwellers take a toll on the environment but it also indicates that people will dispose of more refuse. It has been recently found that the more cramped a place seems to be, the less responsible individuals feel towards it. Few citizens find themselves under no obligation to clean off the garbage thrown out by others even though it can have a negative impact on their health as well as global warming. This attitude eggs on worsening the Earth’s existing conditions to some certain extent.

To mitigate the issue, the government has to implement some hard-line, setting strict stipulations in motion to prohibit littering so as to reduce the heaps of rubbish piled on the curb. Furthermore, should the government propagandize the need for even distribution of population and raise the awareness of the public, things are to be ameliorated.

In conclusion, these problems are no pushovers and will require discreet resolutions to overturn their roots completely. Yet I believe as long as people join hands, there will be no feat that we can not achieve.