Write about the following topic:

Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair.

Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Sports have become a big interest to people all over the world. Outstanding players in this area seem to make much more money than people in other professions. This essay will discuss both sides of this observation and offer my view.

A few people believe that this earning difference is unfair for several reasons. First of all, there are other crucial jobs such as those in healthcare and the food industry. Thanks to these, people are protected from hunger and illness. Therefore, they can be considered the backbone of any country. Besides, thriving professionals sometimes do not deserve higher pay for their bad influence. Because of their high achievements, successful players have numerous fans who admire and listen to them. The majority of young people do not have much living experience thus willing to do whatever it takes to be like their idols as much as possible. For instance, when a star is found using drugs or has many partners, their fans might copy these behaviors for thinking that these are acceptable. In summary, other essential professions in society also deserve high pay. In some cases, successful yet misbehaving players are bad models for young people.

Despite the reasons suggested, the belief in this fair income disparity has become increasingly popular. Naturally, governments rely on healthcare and food services to ensure their people’s well-being. This is being seen particularly true in the on-going Covid-19 pandemic. In other cases, sports are important for their functions of promoting physical health and mental health. It also may be true that young followers are easily affected by their favorite player’s behaviors. Companies and governments can prevent this. Suggested measures are encouraging well-rounded individuals and giving fines and restrictions to those who conduct crimes. Furthermore, the high-performed players’ big sum usually comes from corporates’ sponsorship. This means that they could get a second generous income by becoming a brand ambassador or appearing in advertisements. In brief, sports are beneficial in regular situations and if invested rightly an excellent and responsible professional can make a huge impact too.

In conclusion, it is pretty fair for sports talents to make bigger earnings than those in other areas. At the same time, from my perspective, governments and companies can help to prevent cases when players take advantage of their fame. For example, salary restrictions should be put in place. Companies can also learn to take extra steps before choosing their brand’s representative. It should be someone who is not only good at scoring but also has a positive lifestyle and a responsible attitude.