Write about the following topic:

Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree with these views?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, driving sales of products has become the main goal of companies. The debate that advertising makes these spectacular figures, not the real demands of society, has both supporters and opponents. This essay will discuss their opinions.

Firstly, some people think it is not true. It is partly because the starting point of any transaction is demand and supply. This means that goods are traditionally produced to meet one’s needs. In a typical company, for instance, the marketing and sales team has two functions which include increasing sales and acquiring customers’ feedback. Based on these, top leaders can decide which products to promote and which to stop. Furthermore, another factor in boosting sales can be promotion. Usually, people buy this product over the other because the first happens to be a good deal seasonally for example. In brief, needs are a must in most cases for a product to be purchased.

However, plenty of people agree with the statement. Their first reason is “the crowd effect” describing a person’s action of following a group of people that is doing the same activity. This is due to humans’ desire to fit in and feel belonged. Iphones by Apple are unarguable demonstrations. As soon as people in your network have the newest version, you may feel curious and develop a certain interest. With others’ positive reviews and encouragement, you are likely to end up getting one yourself. The second is companies’ budget for advertising, especially large ones. Thanks to this generous spending, advertising managers can hire the most accomplishing team which typically involves a copywriter, a graphic designer, and a marketer. Besides, there are social media platforms and new tools for search engine optimization and marketing. The total combination is likely to produce impressive sales. In summary, people do not always buy out of their real needs. A partnership of new advertising tools and well-funded, well-staffed advertising teams can make a huge impact on the outcome.

Goods sales often occur in response to consumers’ needs but that is not all. Today’s advertising advances have had a significant influence on selling results. Therefore, I agree with the statement mentioned.