Writing Task 2

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'.

How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Many people believe that the increase in car purchases over 30 years is responsible for traffic congestions in many cities. For me, I think that this statement is completely correct because cars are causing many more troubles in our daily life than their merits and there are many ways that government can tackle this critical issue.

Although car is a very convenient vehicle, they generate many problems such as traffic jams. The number of car has been increasing significantly over 30 years and the rate is much higher than the speed of urban infrastructure development. As a result, many cities overload with cars and traffic congestions slowly become normal in those locations. Another evidence worth mentioning is pollution. According to my province’s recent research, the majority of carbon dioxide emitted in last year was from the use of means of transport. If a modern city polluted with contaminated air, it is possibly because it has too many vehicles in it. If the number of cars keeps raising, soon we will have no space for other activities.

In order to address this issue, government needs to have some practical solutions and two of them are public transport improvement and city improvement. Many residents in big cities claimed that they were afraid of buses because they were dirty and the service was bad. Given this, government should invest more money in upgrading the quality of public transport as well as training employees properly. The second solution is to improve the city infrastructure. Government is encouraged to expand the major roads or streets and create enough space for car park. If they don’t do it fast, soon we will have daily traffic jams because of some random cars park in the streets.

In conclusion, the statement is correct because it reflexes the reality and the government should take actions as soon as possible.