WRITING TASK 2

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Increasing numbers of students are choosing to study abroad.

To what extent does this trend benefit the students themselves and the countries involved?

What are the drawbacks?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, there is a rising trend in studying in a foreign country. For me, this phenomenon brings back so many advantages for the country as well as the student itself but there is also a significant disadvantage of this phenomenon.

First and foremost, this trend helps strengthening bonds among nations. When students decide to study in another country, they often have to make sure that the chosen nation is suitable for them. And that is a symbol of trust and positive connection between two nations. For example, thanks for the exchange program that Vietnam and Laos have had a stronger relationship and also many business contracts. Another benefit is the students themselves. When students study abroad, they have a chance to encounter a totally different cultures, people, lifestyles, etc. As a result, they can enrich their knowledge as well as absorb various perspectives and they can use these experiences to help their nations grow. Moreover, students also can point out the flaws of the countries where they are studying. In terms of that, they surely can improve those nations. For instants, when Canadian students travel to Vietnam, they have helped Vietnamese people in finding flaws in education system and experience. Thanks to them, now Vietnamese students have a better learning system.

However, this trend has a big harm as some international students don’t want to go back to their countries to serve them. This can be easily explained as living in another developed country permanently is much better than coming back. And many people like this, they want a better life, a life in a stronger nation and avoid serving back their home country. This disadvantage can make a nation bleed its gray matter and slow down its development.

Overall, this trend has its own pros and cons. For me, I believe this brings back more benefits and drawbacks. Given this, I encourage people to find a chance to study abroad.