You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

To be labelled a ‘Work of Art’, a painting, sculpture or other art form should display certain qualities that are unique. However, over the past century there has been a decline in the quality of prize-winning artwork and it is now possible for quite ordinary pieces of art to be labelled ‘masterpieces ’ whilst true works of art pass unnoticed.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

A well-recognised artwork needs to contain certain "one-of-a-kind" properties which are unique and appreciated by the public and the critique. In the past century, we will find many noteworthy and classic art forms which are still popular. Unfortunately such display of art has become rarer as time has passed on.

Artist like Van Gouh or Picasso or Bethoven belong to an era where people were still discovering new form of arts. Even writers like Shakespear were welcomed by many society. They mesmerized the crowd with either the new perception or a new tune or maybe even an exciting story. And the public felt like an elite when they enjoyed and conversed about such form of expression. Such form of art has established an level so high, a masterpiece or a classic, that only few of the recent time artist has only able to pass that line with their own uniqueness.

Nowadays most form of art are meant for show offs on social media. If by chance someone gains "recognition" on the social platform, s/he are welcomed to display her/his piece to the general public via television, radio or even youtube. And this "recognistion' is measured by the like/react and commnet they get on their piece. Most artworks are not an expression of the artist's feelings, rather than a stepping stone to fame and fortune.

Another thing is that the technology has enable editing option to sound and image. So, now anyone can edit a video of playing cello and add tune to to claiming he is an genious where the original genious falls behind the curtain for the lack of better access of technology or money.

For example, if youtubers or Tiktok performers upload a video/ image, it will be accessible for the world's viweing. But an street performer only has a limited audience. Hence falls behind race of beming famous.

It is our, the viewers, job to find out the real talents and release them in fornt of the world and renew the era of artworks.