You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit.

What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society?

Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 254 words.

Everyone knows about the threats that comes with the habit of smoking. In spite of the well known dangers, plenty of people maintain a habit of smoking.

Smoking is not a habit but an addiction. Smokers get addicted to the main ingredient of the cigarettes which is known as nicotine. If the smoke abusers do not get their fill, they will begin to crave the nicotine. the craving can mess up their bodily systems and sometimes it renders them unable to function accordingly. Moreover, as the tobacco companies have a huge market, they can provide their products in different flavors, smell and prices. So, it brings customers from different income groups of the society. In addition, smoking is a popular activity among teenagers. Studies have found the presence of peer pressure among the teens, specially in pubescent boys, to take the first puff of smoke. Many older chain smokers have confessed that they smoked their first cigarette in order to cool and adult-like look in front of their age groups as a teen.

Although everyone is aware and wary of the health threats that comes with smoking cigarettes, the number of tobacco companies have increased throughout the years. So, in order to reduce the number of smokers, a number of tobacco companies need to be shut down. It will only happen when the demand of cigarettes can be reduced. In order to lower the consumers of cigarettes, firstly, the teens, who are the prime abusers, should be made aware of the long-term risks associated with smoking. By informing about the health and financing issues related to smoking, we can make them understand that such activity is nor welcomed at all. Including jail time as a result of underage smoking which will added to their permanent record might deter them from smoking at all. Secondly, the target should shift toward the chain smokers by helping them to get proper care, medicine and therapy to get over nicotine addiction. Disallowing smoking inside or/and on public places should be incorporated strictly. Thirdly, hiking the prices of cigarettes will stop the recreational smokers. Fourthly , perhaps including taxes as well punishment on smoking might actually do the trick and finally reduce smoking.

To conclude, smoking is a dangerous lifestyle. Support from families as well as actions of the government should be enough to stop a person from smoking in the first place at all.