You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Some museums and art galleries charge admission fees, while others have free entry.

Do you think the advantages of charging for admission outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 254 words.

Many museums and art galleries in the world set entrance fees for the general public as well as the tourists whereas others do not charge any. The huge advantage of having an entry charge like revenue generation for both museum and country will far outweigh any disadvantages that it might bring.

First of all, these fees can create a source of income for these facilities which they can spend on the maintenance of facilities and covering the overhead cost. In addition, they can design, decorate, expand, and present their facility with more resources, information, and advanced technologies when they have extra money on hand. For example, the Royal Tyrrel Museum of Drumheller is investing their earnings from the museum more on research and development of fossils and the extinction process of dinosaurs to make the learning more effective for the public. Therefore, it can be said without any doubt that admission charges to these facilities generating revenue for both the museum and the province and making education more useful.

Art galleries and museums are a massive repository of knowledge and thus having entry fees can inhibit people to visit there. As a result, they will not be well known and informed about their heritage and culture and can not represent their country properly. Moreover, many students and researchers go to these places to complete their study assignments or research, and thus they can benefit hugely. Hence, having an admission charge can deter the opportunity of learning leaving them for using only the government funding facilities.

In conclusion, charging fees for entrance to art galleries and museums keep these facilities resourceful, well-maintained, and up to date which for sure the government-run institution is lacking. It might seem a little expensive at first but eventually, the experience and learning will be far more extensive and vast, and surely outweigh any flaws.