You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Some museums and art galleries charge admission fees, while others have free entry.

Do you think the advantages of charging for admission outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 254 words.

Museums and art galleries serve as a place where people can gather knowledge and education about their history, culture, and heritage. Many museums and art galleries in the world set entrance fees for the general public as well as the tourists whereas others do not charge any. Although charging people to gain entrance can have several drawbacks, I believe the advantages of having entry fees far outweigh the disadvantage.

Art galleries and museums are a massive repository of knowledge and help to educate people if they have free access. The main reason behind this is common people will be more interested and attracted to this facility having no entry free. Moreover, many students and researchers go to these places to complete their study assignments or research, and thus they can benefit hugely. From society’s perspective, people will be well known and informed about their heritage and culture and can represent their country properly. Additionally, these institutes can serve their purpose of educating people and gain the satisfaction of fulfilling all the purposes.

Despite having the aforementioned advantages of free entrance, I think there should fees to get admission to these facilities for many reasons. First of all, these fees can create a source of income for these museums and galleries which they can spend on the maintenance of facilities and covering the overhead cost like personnel, heat, water, and electricity. In addition, without relying on government funding they can design, decorate and present their facility with more resources, information, and advanced technologies when they have extra money on hand. For example, the Royal Tyrrell Museum of Drumheller works with the dinosaur, investing their earnings from the museum more on research and development of fossils and thus gaining more attraction to the tourism industry. Hence, the learning becomes more effective and up to date.

In conclusion, though free entry to any museum and art galleries can have lots of positive effects I am in favor of having admission fees. It might seem a little expensive at first but eventually, the experience and learning will be far more extensive and vast in long run.