You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both of these two views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Crime punishments have been a controversial debate for years from the West to the East. While there’s a belief that the same punishments should be put in place for each crime type, other people support considering factors such as personal situations and motives to regulate punishments. This essay will discuss both and offer my view.

There are several benefits of having one punishment. The first is it may make the government’s job easier. By going through the same procedures for each crime category, public officials can save both financial and labor costs. In addition, this way of treating crimes might help to discourage soon-to-be offenders from their acts. For instance, if a serious crime such as heroin trading was paid with life imprisonment or death penalty while robbing was punished by a few months or years behind bars, people might think twice before conducting the bigger act. In brief, a single punishment can bring advantages to the legal administrator while preventing people from planning to do serious offenses.

On the other hand, opponents their arguments. They think that it might be convenient for government workers but it’s highly likely to be seen as unfair and unjust for a great many citizens. The first-time offender could be an example. Furthermore, the psychological effect on future offenders created by fixed punishments happens sometimes. However, it’s extremely hard to measure and in most cases, people conduct crimes due to their inability to control emotions and behaviors. As a result, this subtle benefit could be easily overpowered by offenders’ strong and wrong desires. Besides, individual circumstances such as the living standard and the educational level are important to consider a reduction in charge. Another demonstration is a woman who only finished the 5th grade and she has to take care of sick parents and younger siblings who are at school age. It is understandable to lots of people that her hardships need to be taken into account. Last but not least is the recommendation of understanding someone’s motives before charging them for a crime. Without this, the legal system can become a symbol of heartlessness and inhumaneness. Things need to be put in context since one person’s rightness can be someone else’s wrongness. To sum up, the disadvantages make up for the advantages.

In conclusion, it may help governments in cutting costs and reducing more serious offenses. Despite this, punishments could be harsh so it’s crucial to take extra steps before announcing someone guilty. Personal situations and motivations are the first two that need to be considered. From my perspective, we should not take this lightly even though the process might be time-consuming and expensive because, at the end of the day, it’s someone’s reputation or in some cases, someone’s life.