You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic.

Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities.

To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 254 words.

The scope of the information technology is broad and has the potential to ease our lives in many ways. The changes brought up by information technology are vast and becoming the most significant part of every arena of life such as household activities, office work and even spending of free time. The huge advantages of information technology like free access to information and communication far outweigh any disadvantages that it might bring.

Modern technology has revolutionized the way people communicate and try to gat access to the information. This means to say, before the invention of internet, people used to write letters, call in land line or do telegram in order to communicate with family, friends or others. Since the invention of internet and smart phone the world has become a small village in terms of communication. For example, people can make video call, voice call, chat or conference call from different part of the world using smart phone application through internet. In addition, internet is a missive repository of knowledge now and a person can get all the information readily available in devices. Before this the source had to be either reference books or documented papers or any knowledgeable person. Therefore, it can be said without any doubt that the changes IT brought has significant positive effects.

However, every single blessing of science has some of its drawbacks. Information technology modified our work industry largely but also making people jobless. Moreover, more and more nations are planning and walking towards automated machine workforce. For instance, supermarket in developed countries are installing automated machine to pay and thus making people jobless. Although, these are mostly observed in western world, rest of the world still depends on human work forces. Another point to consider is, some people can use the service of internet as a means to commit crime though small proportion.

In conclusion, information technology has gained free access to our lives and its diverse benefits make it a predominant source in every aspect. The minor disadvantages of joblessness are nothing in compared to millions of jobs it has created worldwide. So, I completely believe the profound advantages of information technology surely outweigh any flaws.