You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 254 words.

Competition and co-operation are two sides of a coin, which both are essential to learning for children in different stages of life. While many people believe that children should be engaged in competition, others keep the notion that helping each other is more important to compete in children's life. In my opinion, I consider whether to compete or co-operate depend on the age of the child.

On one hand, a major share of people believe in the idea of helping each other in children is essential to learn the life lesson. The main reason behind this side of thought is that as humans, we do not live alone. We are living in an environment where we are surrounded by our family, friends, neighbors, and so on. Therefore, it is very important to learn how to live, communicate and interact with everyone from early life. Besides, co-operation will help them to negotiate the confrontation, which they may encounter every day later in life, and thus come to a solution. Hence, co-operation has a profound positive effect on young children from grade kindergarten to five (age 0 to 10)

On the other hand, competition can channel the future success of children appropriately. When children are encouraged to compete with each other in different areas like academics and sports, they will completely apply themselves. This, in turn, can have a very good outcome which will inspire them further. Moreover, proper and healthy competition will make them ready to enter into a competitive future career as an adult. Therefore, for older children (age 11 to 17) it is important to compete.

In my opinion, I believe whether to compete or co-operate depends on the age of the children. In the early life of development, children need to learn the essential life skills through co-operation whereas later in life, they can focus more on competition to excel in their academics and other essential skills. This way, their learning, and achievement will be more balanced.

In conclusion, despite people having a different opinion about whether children should learn co-operation or competition, I am in favor of learning both skills at different stages of life.