You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic.

Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words

It has been noticed that the percentage of people who pursue their own hobbies is dramatically decreasing in modern society today. The following essay will highlight some possible causes as well as some practical impacts on the social hierarchy.

To start with, there are a variety of reasons that are attributable to this tendency. Firstly, it is the fast-paced life that makes people immerse in their work and forget their interests. It is irrefutable that people's future lives are much more crucial than the hobbies that would force them to spend much of their quality time on. Likewise, instead of devoting time to painting and playing games, the young generation makes use of that duration to study to gain a scholarship. Moreover, due to the fact that humans gradually take priority on their family over their pastimes, the popularity of leisure activities that they always desire would drastically plummet in their souls. Another reason that distance many individuals from their hobbies is the appearance of social network and high-tech equipment. Such is the powerful attraction of social platforms that human beings pay more attention to them than their hobbies.

Besides the aforementioned causes, the noticeable effects that this phenomenon has on society are people's psychological and physical aspects. In terms of emotion, hobbies are one of the main factors contributing to the optimism and fascination of people, so lacking them would drive people to frustration and stress. With no passionate temperament, the public could suffer from ineffective working environments and counter-productive activities. In addition, those who could not satisfy their inner self with passion are more likely to have health problems such as stress or depression, or even chronic diseases. As an example, the high rate of suicide in teenagers and working-class people might be a result of the long-term effect of giving up their hobbies to cope with unpredictable life.

In short, the time people spend on pastimes is coming down, so some reasons related to this matter and some influences it has on society and individuals which have been mentioned as it is should be taken into consideration.