You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic.

In recent years some countries have experienced very rapid economic development. This has resulted in much higher standards of living in urban areas but not in the countryside.

This situation may bring some problems for the country as a whole. What are these problems? How might they be reduced?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 254 words.

A very rapid growth in the economic sector of different countries can be found all over the globe. So, a change in the lifestyle and living standard has become visible to us. However, such change is only limited to the city areas and not quite noticeable in the rural sides. This type of variation living standard can cause more harmful to the overall development of a country.

Firstly, if a city gets modernized, than it means better access to health and care facilities to the city dwellers; which ultimately leads to low rates of death. More children are born with access to education. As the population increases, the quality of education might decrease. Moreover, the number of unemployed individual will rise as well.

Secondly, the overall urban society will have to hire paid workers to do their basic works as everyone would be too busy with their own office works.

Thirdly, if all progress are city centered, it means all the head-quarters of various enterprises are constructed within the city limits making the cities look like modern slums.

Finally, the villages will lack in education, health benefits and employments. So, the villagers would have to move to the urban areas to earn livelihood. This will make the cities densely-populated with barely functioning rural communities. There remains a chance that the village-dwellers will sort to crime to make a living.

So, modernizing only the urban locations can become detrimental to the nation. To avoid that kind of outcome, the government should act soon and make proper policies in urbanization of the rural communities.