You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Shopping is the favourite free time activity for many young people today. Why do you think this has happened? Should young people be encouraged to do different activities in their free time rather than shopping?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

The hectic and bustling lifestyle of youngsters nowadays has incentivized the surge of a wide range of leisure pursuits. Among them, shopping has been one of the most popular. While kaleidoscopic viewpoints about this pastime have been concocted either to promote it or to show major disapproval, I believe that shopping can be a beneficial hobby.

Nobody can deny the fact that shopping helps people unwind effectively. Whether splurging on lavish items or ordinary stuff on sale can supersede anxiety and stress, which makes it reasonable that most women have a deep-seated favor towards this free time activity for ages. Even though females are the main patrons of shopping, recently, their counterparts purportedly get engaged in this recreation whenever they feel flush as a way to let off steam. The mechanism of how shopping can loosen the pressurized nerves is not easy to grasp, yet it takes effect regardless of age or sexes; therefore, young adults can indulge in it since the duress that they have to sustain in workplaces or simply family matters is waxing.

Many opinionated persons label shopping extravagant and time-consuming, as it is indeed, they often show their animosity to this extravaganza or even people who immerse themselves in it. However, as long as young people weigh up pros and cons with enough discretion, using their wages to purchase things, it poses no conspicuous problems. Some adults buy a litany of things just to gift their parents and relatives later, and this helps reinforce relationships with others. Moreover, people’s perceptions shift from time to time, should they realize shopping is more or less an innocuous leisure derivation, they will apply themselves to more meaningful pastimes such as charity or volunteering at will. Nevertheless, it is unfair to impose one’s opinion on others; to mitigate probable unnecessary rifts of mixed conceptions; I think one should be given a chance to do whatever they feel dedicated to.

In conclusion, shopping is a common hobby among youngsters, and supposedly a waste of time and money; yet, people should be less harsh towards each other and respect others’ hobbies. There are much more things to do than rambling over whether following a mere spare time activity is right or wrong, beneficial or detrimental because, at the end of the day, recreations are to entertain oneself, not others as well.