You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Unemployment remains the biggest challenge to school-leavers in most countries.

How far do you agree with this assessment? What other challenges face young people today?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Write at least 250 words.

Joblessness has been deemed an anathema for any graduates, which is justifiable as they can not scratch a living. Although this issue is the most powerful brunt that puts school-leavers under pressure, I believe that other problems encircling them are concerning as well.

Being unemployed is always a nightmarish prospect for anyone, especially youngsters since they are ambitious and have just set forth on life: they are so fickle that they can be swayed like a hung pendulum by any challenges offered by life. The inability to self-subsistence renders them hopeless and disheartened. All ramifications posed from unemployment are also a nail in the coffin for them: namely, words of mouth from others doubting their potentials can be a momentum pushing them to the verge of depression.

Yet, not being hired is only one of the factors that pressurize the youth today. Female graduates might encounter pay inequality and an abrupt avalanche of household chores as well as duress; meanwhile, they are more susceptible to burnouts, a syndrome that can wreak havoc on people’s health, more than their male counterparts. Simultaneously, men, in general, will likely be the target of disdain if they fail to take off their careers or live up to the expectations of others. All these quandaries can make both genders doubt their self-worth and shrink their self-esteem.

To encapsulate, dilemmas facing young adults are their inertia, yet can also be the lessons helping them sustain with instability better if they know how to muster their strength. It’s high time they learned from Marcus Aurelius: “Obstacles can not make you far from your target; they only make you redirect your approach. What stands in the way becomes the way.”