You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. Write at least 250 words.

Some parents prefer to have their children be raised by their grandparents. Some prefer to raise them on their own. Which would you prefer & why?.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are some individuals who advocate for their children to be guided by their grandparents while some argue to depend solely on parental guidance. In this essay, both perspectives will be explained followed by my personal preference.

Regarding the grandparents, they are generally considered as more experienced in caretaking and richer in life experiences in general. Since they had encountered struggles and difficulties in dealing with their own child, the grandparents may find it easier to be more level-headed and efficient in dealing with child-related issues. For instance, taking a third-person's outlook, the grandparents can help the children to realize their parental love for me whereby parents get occupied with their job. Moreover, the old people, in general, are regarded as the link between the past and the future. By being nursed by the grandparents, the youngster will be provided with life-experience short stories, moral concepts, and a glimpse of their past. There is also a tendency that the child would be more open-minded to the new concepts, and develop more curiosity about the events happening around them. In addition, some studies showed that the youngsters raised by grandparents are said to be more empathetic and understanding compared to their counterparts.

On the other hand, it is also acceptable that some parents claim the sole responsibility to raise their own children because of the following reasons. Firstly, these parents are generally individual adults who are capable of taking care of their own child and carrying out their job simultaneously. In fact, although it is natural to let the child spend some time with their grandparents, giving the whole role of caretaker is a different matter. The grandparents, who mostly are in their 60s or 80s, have already worked diligently throughout their life, and their adult years ought to be a time when they can finally find inner peace. Therefore, considering the hard work they have done enough, parents are reluctant to put their children together with grandparents. Secondly, the rapport between family members is supposed to be strong and it has to be stronger when it comes to immediate relatives. By spending more time with the offspring, the bond between the parents and the child gets stronger which consequences in better relations between them. In addition, the parents have lived the adjacent timeline with their child which makes it easier to give guidance to them since there is a narrower generation gap.

To conclude, either parenting by grandparents or by the parents has their respective positive impact on the child. From my personal point of view, it would be a better choice for parents to raise their children on their own while allowing interaction with grandparents since they have the sole guardians of the offspring.