You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual well-being. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Give reasons for your answer and give any relevant example or experience you have to support your answer.

You should write at least 250 words.

It is a human tendency that everyone wants to get an excellent employment mostly after completing their university and college and looks for such job which can provide financial security and happiness in life. Therefore, job satisfaction, which can be derived based on person’s likeness and earnings, is an important element of any work.

First of all, if a person is to like any work, the job needs to have several characteristics such as good salary and bonuses, sufficient hours for rest, healthy workplace and environment, job security and involvement of light physical activities. Ideally, the job should have a scope of work where an employee is given freedom of execution. Importantly, such jobs should also commensurate the monthly payouts to give satisfaction to its holders.

With respect to the issue of satisfactory jobs to all employees, it is unlikely that everyone becomes happy with the work he gets. It is important to note that we don’t live and work in an ideal work. The unemployment rate is so high around the world that a well qualified person may have to engage in a work which cannot provide any real satisfaction. However, given the situation, the person may not have any other possibility except to accept such employment. For example, many mine workers are unlikely to enjoy their work in deep, dark and dusty quarry but circumstances are such that they end up working there all their lives. Similar would be the case of many international students working in a café or in a bar to cover their tuition fees.

To sum up, many factors such as good salary and safe work environment contribute to job satisfaction. People would definitely choose a workplace where they enjoy working. However, it is not always possible to provide ideal job to everyone. So, many men and women are compelled to do any work to support their families despite the lack of job satisfaction.