Young people prefer listening to music rather than listening to the news on the radio.

Is this a positive or a negative trend?

In contemporary times, the younger generation opts to listen to music than listen to the news. In my point of view, listening to music gives a negative impression on the youth due to detachment to society and unawareness of what is going on in the local, national and global environment.

Music indeed creates a good vibe thus establishing the mood. However, several reasons make it unfavorable, hereafter brings negative indications on the youth, making them mentally and socially unavailable. Firstly, the indifference to society is a red flag that should be pointed out and given importance. For example, most of the time, these age groups isolate themselves to listen to music; instead of catching up with friends and family, they would put on the earphones and get lost in the song. Furthermore, it is an obvious implication of disconnection to the outside world that should be discouraged.

Secondly, it is undeniable that music can be entertaining, whereas news holds to be informative. It is another reason why listening to the news has a positive impact on children. To be well informed is crucial for survival. Consequently, not being updated about any data is detrimental to the overall mental health of this age group. Although some news can be discouraging, it offers instructive entertainment, and ideas, such as business advice, diet for health and fitness and technological discoveries, which the younger generation seems to neglect.

In my conclusion, I believe the choice to listen to music than the news has undesirable effects on the youth. It diminishes the educational substance of these individuals.