Zoos are inhumane and should be abolished To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion

The idea that, zoos are the symbolic image of unphilanthropic actions and should be removed in the era of equality, remains a source of controversy. While many people approve with this viewpoint, I strongly disagree with this misconception about zoos and other animal protection destinations as a whole because of numerous positive effects they have brought for the sake of both animals and society.

The appearance of zoos can be regarded as the important achievement for several reasons. Firstly, due to the serious natural environmental degradation, various wild animals are not able to exist without adequate source of food and places for sheltering. With the view to preserving and boosting the biodiversity, some kinds of endangered animals are brought up and grow in the man-made living conditions, which is likely to meet animal's basic demands. For example, in African regions, instead of being hunted by inhumane people or lying in the claws of dangerous predators in wildlife, living in zoos can maintain and sustain animal's offspring and also avoid the risk of extinction. Therefore, opposing to misunderstanding of a group of people, zoos are not only as inhumane as they expected but also the ideal living environment for a wide variety of animals.

Furthermore, with the role as a tourist attractive destination, zoos also strengthen people's awareness about animal protection. For example, it is a common tendency that schools are gradually changing their curriculum and pay more attention to practical knowledge. Organizing outdoor activities like zoo tours can stimulate students' curiosity about the natural environment and the vitality of protecting and preserving animals. Thanks to that, children will nurture and promote their sense of sympathy as well as are encouraged to participate in animal protection campaigns. Without the presence of zoos, people will lost a precious opportunity to gain more knowledge about the world around them.

In conclusion, zoos play a crucial role in people's life. I would argue that zoos are not inhumane as exaggerated before and the presence of zoos nowadays is completely essential.