Zoos are sometimes seen as necessary but not poor alternatives to natural environment. Discuss some arguments for and /or against keeping animals in zoo.

Zoos are well known to display heterogeneous collection of animals to people and education them on wild animals. It is one major source to view animals that we don’t get to see everywhere in our daily life. But to what extend Zoos are necessary is disputable. The following essay analyses the various pros and cons of zoos.

Firstly, Wild animals are trapped from their natural habitat and are kept in cages and tiny artificial habitat that is created in the zoo. We see many cases where these wild animals are not taken proper care. They have little space to move around and don’t open live in groups. They are also trapped for years in the zoo. This does not help to preserve the wild animals but instead exaggerate the wild life.

On the other hand, many animals that were present hundreds of years ago are not seen any more. Our younger generations might not get to even see the various wild animals that currently exist. One such example is mammoth. These animals lived in the cold climatic conditions and disappeared gradually with the changing weather conditions. Many animals in wild die due to starvation. This can be avoided in zoo. Additionally, some wild animals like deer have so protection from other wild animals. Animals like lions, tigers kill other animals that like in the forest for their survival. This also can be avoided in zoo.

In conclusion, zoos are helpful to preserve animals and protect them from various conditions they face in wild but also its necessary to provide proper habitat for them to live.