Although many people value their public parks, this space could be better used for other purposes such as residential areas for the ever growing population or to develop business and boost economies.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

The problem of scarcity of lands has introduced due to increase in population. Although some feel that public places should be replaced with residential areas to facilitate people, I, however, believe that parks are important to maintain equilibrium in the ecosystem.

Firstly, public parks are places where people do outdoor activities. In many countries, lawns are often used by youngsters to play different games, old age uses it for exercise and yoga purpose. These activities help them to stay fit and healthy. Therefore, conversion of public places to cope with the growing population issue can directly negatively impact the health of locals. Moreover, public areas are often used as a socializing medium because people get to know each other due to it. For example, by doing playing cricket in parks, children sometimes came to know their neighbours.

Another reason is that greenery of parks generally mitigates with carbon dioxide. Emission of toxic fumes from the cars often increases the level of carbon dioxide in the environment, so trees are used to generate oxygen from the toxic air. A good illustration of this is the central park of London, where the government has recently planted 100 trees to reduce the carbon footprints.

In conclusion, while some are in favour to use the public places for the economic growth of the nation, however, I think that it will not only create health problems for the locals but also disturb the ecosystem. Therefore, I believe that the government should look for other options to stimulate the local economy rather than the replacement of public places.