Are zoos cruel to wild animals? Discuss

Zoo showcases exotic wild animals in captivity for human beings to learn and observe the behaviors of the animal. Few modern zoos are alike natural reserve, providing the habitat equivalent to forest to feral animals.There are ambivalent views on this issue which is deliberated in following essay.

Animals are exhibited in a confinement and profited by putting the animal’s condition on ticket. Ferocious cats like Lion and Tigers are often seen trotting up and down looking distressed in their cage. Many zoos feed their animals with packaged and frozen meat and with no room for exercise, the animal’s average lifespan tends to reduce compared to those living in wild. Also, the animal loses natural instinct to hunt and becomes vulnerable when released back in the wild. Further, it is hard to detect the animal’s distress in their enclosure. Recently, the entire stingray population at the Brookfield Zoo's Stingray Bay habitat died due to a drop in the oxygen level inside the exhibit. o exhibit rare extraordinary species of animals, special focus lights are installed in their pen, which may increase anxiety levels of the animals and it may suffer some health issue. To add to the plight of these animals, there is no upkeep of proper sanitation.

However, not all zoos disregard the well-being of the animals. Some curators offer safe captive breeding, which would otherwise lead to the extinction of the species, if left alone in the wild. For example, Chinese zoos are making tremendous efforts to preserve the endangered population of Giant Panda listed on Red List of threatened species. The animals kept in captive are safe from the harsh conditions and their predators, which will help them to reproduce their species in sustainable numbers. Another positive aspects of the zoos are they are seen as educational resources for children and teachers. These captivities bring animal and nature closer to the human being and create awareness of the conservation programs. There are times when wounded animals are rescued from poachers and nurtured in these man sanctuaries.

Based on the aforementioned discussion, zoos do provide protection and shelter to animals but at the same time could also take away their freedom and leave them vulnerable without being in captivity.