The best way to solve the world’s environmental problem is to increase the price of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, environmental issues have been increasing at an unprecedented rate. Although some feel that by increasing the fuel price this issue can be resolved, I, however, believe that other measures can also be taken to minimize this problem.

Firstly, using legislation global environmental problems can be reduced. Many industries throw their waste chemicals in the rivers, which leads to water pollution. The government could revisit their policies by shunning those industries that contaminate water and air quality. In addition, by giving tax relaxation to those industries which will use eco-friendly products and take care of the environment, authorities can limit the environmentally damaging materials.

Secondly, by using the formula of 3 R’s; reuse, reduce and recycle, this environmental problem can be resolved. At an individual level, rather than throwing products after a single use, by reusing it we can we reduce extra garbage collection which causes climate change. Café in Australia is an example of it, where any form of plastic is a ban, so they use paper glasses to serve coffee and other drinks to their customers.

However, despite the arguments above, an increase in the fuel price will curtail the carbon footprints up to an extent. Public transportation will be used as the transportation mode which will reduce the emission of carbon fumes. A good illustration of this is New Delhi, Capital of India, where the price of petrol is high than other states, so more than 50% of people either travel by public bus or metro. In short, the petrol price will restrict people to use their private vehicles.

In conclusion, in order to make the balance in ecology, we must not only increase the fuel prices but also encourage the government to create stringent rules against environment damagers.