Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies.To what extent do you think are consumes influenced by advertisements?What measures can be taken to protect them?

An increasing number of advertisements have been broadcasted on social media in recent times all around the world. I would strongly argue that advertiser persuade consumers to purchase more unnecessary items. This essay will firstly discuss how advertisements affect people’s tendencies, and secondly will suggest some measures to prevent it.

First of all, I would completely contend that consumers are motivated to excess shopping. Despite they do not need an item, they do not need an item, they will purchase it after they are exposed to adverts on billboards television and applications such as Instagram and Facebook. For example, an article by Shopping Trends Magazine in 2018 reported that 80% of teenagers purchase mobile phones once a year in order to own a gadget which is cutting edge of computer technology even though the ones they hold has not become obsolete with the introduction of new technology. Apple’s and Samsung’s adverts which are frequently forecasted on youth portals make them feel that their ones are not useful at all therefore they need to own an updated model in many cases.

Secondly, governments can take some steps to protect citizens. To begin with, educating them can be very effective way. Seminars related with awareness in shopping and money management can be provided regularly to increase awareness in society. For instance, a report from Government of Man in 2017 revealed that delinquent rate decreased from 80% to 50% after compulsory media effect courses had been provided to Man citizens in 2017. Further and more importantly, regulating them can be very important given the fact that many advertisements provide some unreal information related with products to boost sales. Thus if texts, videos and clips are controlled regularly, many customers will not be misleaded.

By way of conclusion, I completely believe that adverts both visual and written leave strong impression on their mind thus in order to protect them officials should take steps such as subsidising courses and strictly controlling them.