Do the advantages of having English as a global language outweigh the disadvantages?

Thanks to the colonization done by the British, more than half of the world’s population can speak English to some extent. This language has surely helped in uniting the world on a global platform. I think that the benefits of English as a global language outnumber its drawbacks.

In today’s world, when people are traveling around the world for leisure, studies, work and medical treatment, a common language comes to an aid. For a two-way communication to happen successfully, both the parties need to be able to understand each other and respond accordingly. Certainly, English has played its crucial part in building a communication bridge among the people of different cultures and nationalities.

Furthermore, speaking a common language in a foreign country helps people in adapting in a new environment. It allows you to make friends relatively easily, learn about the culture, find a job and visit places. Not to mention, this universal language has facilitated trade and knowledge transfer across the globe, thereby turning the world into a global village.

On the other hand, the growth of English as a lingua franca has a negative impact on one’s culture. Owing to its strong influence, the popularity of western cultures has increased worldwide. The lack of interest shown by young adults in traditional functions/ceremonies and clothes is a clear example of this change. This is a worrying trend because the language is the medium through which cultural knowledge is passed on to our future generations.

All in all, it is undeniably true that English has brought the world together. At present, its disadvantages may seem minuscule when compared to its advantages. Nonetheless, its increasing influence is a real threat to cultural and linguistic diversity.