Do you agree/disagree that, in the near future, the role of teachers will be replaced by technology.

Technology or digitization has brought a positive change in our lives. It is being argued that in the longer run, instructors in our schools or colleges will be permanently substituted by technology. Though technology has made our life convenient, replacing the role of our teachers is a far-flung dream.

To begin with, teachers in educational institutions play multiple roles. They not only teach us relevant subjects but also be our guiding light in times of despair. For example, teachers in my school, apart from teaching me subjects, also played the role of a mentor by rightly guiding and motivating me to take up science as a major subject. To reciprocate this, I am forever thankful to my instructors and attribute my success to their efforts and guidance. So, this example is a strong indicator that, technology will never be able to play the role of a mentor and motivate & understand their students the way our teachers have done.

Secondly, in support of my previous argument, every single teacher possesses a different style of teaching and character which any piece of technology, no matter how sophisticated it may be, cannot accomplish. For example, my music teacher in college was flamboyant and extremely expressive. Whereas, the mathematics lecturer was a geek. On the other hand, the head coach of basketball had a military background, because of which, he was a strict disciplinarian but excellent at the game. So, every tutor/mentor followed different styles and had distinct personality traits which somewhat reflected in their teaching strategies. This example, once again, makes me a firm believer that no machine and no technology can ever achieve the unique methodologies and persona that humans bring to the table.

In conclusion, although technology seems to be transforming every rudimentary chore but it will never be able to fill the shoes of our teachers/mentors/tutors.