Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are some countries where the significant growth of superstore businesses causes the failure of local small trades. To a certain extent I disagree with the idea that this situation could bring any risk for local communities. However, I accept that it can have a negative effect on local companies.

The advancement of superstores could bring the huge commercial failure for a local small store. It offers consumers to purchase various items in one place which is both time-saving and stress relieving, unlike buying from different stores separately. Hence, they prefer to buy from supermarket rather than local stores which bring the closure of local commerce for the need of customers. A recent survey shows that in Bangladesh, 20% of local market stores closed their business within 2 years after the superstores such as Shapna had initiated the business. This means that the more expansion of supermarket would leave a few customers for small businesses.

However, I would argue that above mentioned situation could not decease for a community. The development of super stores could ensure the quality of life for members of community. They will need to spend less time in shopping and become happy to utilize their time with family. Beside this, a superstore requires a large number of workforces to accommodate the customer services, and they recruit them mostly from local people. Thus, they can enjoy their work from home. For example, after building a superstore Shapna, many people employed in that store and they enjoying their job better than others. This have reduced the community unemployment ever been before.

In conclusion, though the superstore businesses bring challenges for local businesses, I do not believe that it could wipe out any local community.