Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets the businesses of the small and local businessmen are affected as they are not capable enough to compete. Firstly, because of the technological advancement today many of them are not able to capture the interests of the customers like the bigger competitors that they have.

Secondly, consumers prefer to shop in a bigger and better environment where they can find many kinds of products of the same nature and so many choices are available in these supermarts.

Thirdly, people will get many kinds of attractive and beneficial deals on their purchase which are not possible to be given by the local vendors and traders as they will lose their revenue from the product which they sell.

Fourth and the most important reasons are the varieties and the lucrative offers and even the bigger customer support that a purchaser gets when he shops in these big giant malls and supermarkets like Best buy, Wal-Mart and Reliance just to name a few and the beautiful scenario around them and the ambience captures the mind of the customers magnificently.

As this kind of advancement is not possible for the localities and minute businesses are not that much open to the lavishness of this kind as it will harm their pockets and they are not having enough resources to back the crowds at their doors.

Mainly this will hamper their business and can cause a total annihilation of the medium and normal businesses. Earlier these shops were able to make as much profit as they want but now the situation is completely turned against them. Technical advancements, infrastructures, scenarios and presentation has kind of change the game for these bigger corporates as they have made the competition tough for the local businesses to survive.