Employers sometimes ask people apply for jobs personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

People have different views about requiring the personal information of candidates in job interviews. While some people believe that it brings more benefits for work conditions, I argue that we should not ask applicants about it.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why employers inquire applicants about their own personal information. Nowadays because most renowned companies such as Microsoft or Apple need their staffs to work as a team, employees must fit perfectly into their work culture. For example, these corporations often hire people who are active and communitive. If candidates only work individually in a group, it is hard to increase organization’s productivity and efficiency. Moreover, the human stability in companies is the most important, which helps them to save time and money for personnel recruitment. Therefore, a great number of organizations ask about applicants’ marriage status, they often expect that their staffs such as tellers in banks do not take time off for caring their children in first two years.

On the other hand, there are also drawbacks about asking the personal information of applicants in job interviews. Firstly, I consider that employers should concentrate on skills and job requirement which applicants must have instead of asking unrelated questions such as candidates’ hobbies or marital status, which causes a waste of time and negative effects on applicants. Consequently, employers might not recruit adequate staffs as their expectation. Secondly, there are many staffs whose personal information was stalked from their colleagues, which prevent them from doing well their tasks and also negatively affects their mind. As a result, the productivity and efficiency of organization might gradually decrease. If staffs’ personal information is not shared, they could be assured and work more efficiently.

In conclusion, while some people consider that it is beneficial for their companies when asking applicants for their interests or marital status, I strongly believe that the information about those things should be kept in confidently.