Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbles and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this Information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is generally well-known that, applying for a job requires multiple steps and amongst these steps, and not o mention, the most important as well is the interview. Employers tend to perform the interviews with applicants through different methods, and through it, they sometimes ask for various personal information. For instance, the marital status, hobbies and interests. People's opinion vary when it comes to the usefulness of giving away such information or not.

Embarking upon the first perspective for the people who are in favor for telling those kind of information. Their idea is based on different aspects, for example, the marital status can relate to how much the applicant is willing to be committed. Moreover, it can show the capability of the applicant of leading a team, in case of team leader jobs. Another aspect lies in deciding whether the applicant is fit for the job or not in terms of stamina for instance. As if the applicant does an active sport as a hobby, it can correlate to his/her physical abilities.

On the other hand, people who are against giving away their personal information are afraid to be judged, or even more sometimes discriminated, due to their interests in their personal life such as listening to rap music. Furthermore, they believe that whether getting accepted or not, should only depend on their experience, qualifications and skills. Besides, some employers do not accept to hire a female applicant once they know that she is newly married, only to avoid giving her a maternity leave. I remember once, my wife possessed all the skills needed for a certain job; however, she was only refused due to being married.

To conclude, although knowing plethora of information about an applicant is mandatory; nevertheless, employers should never judge applicants based on the hobbies, interests, marital status and religion.