Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In today’s time, where businesses and corporates give enormous importance to personal aspects of potential employees. Some section of the society believes that gathering such information related to their leisure activities and marital status is beneficial, whereas others have contrasting views. In my opinion, it is absolutely important for businesses to have such data, as it helps in improving the business opportunities and to take better decisions.

Firstly, one of the most fundamental need of knowing the leisure activities is that they help the employer to decide if the candidate fits into a particular role or not. For instance, if a media company is seeking for a post of a journalist, then it is obvious that the candidate must simply love reading. Additionally, being a journalist requires a person to be highly active, which imply having hobbies involving physical activity will be an add-on, such an information would definitely help an employer to take better decisions. Secondly, certain job profiles require employees to relocate on very short notice and unmarried candidates fits best in such roles. Therefore, having to know the marital status becomes incumbent on employers.

On the other hand, other people are of opinion that hobbies and relationship status are matters of personal choices and are not related to professional career. Furthermore, asking marital status to some people may make them feel offended, as they might be actively seeking a partner for very longtime without success. More importantly, the information provided by people on resumes or during interviews are more often not reliable, as they may just copy and paste the content or tell lies during an interview. Therefore, relying on such information to hire someone may sometimes be flawed.

To conclude, in today’s competitive world, employers seek for candidates who are the best fit for a role. To do this, they require elaborate information including personal and professional life. Furthermore, to make smart business decisions such as employee relocation, it is crucial to know the marital status of an employee., this will be helpful for both the organization and the employee in longer run.