Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

For a job applicant, it has been so common to write personal information, including interests, or marital status on job application forms long before.The personal details sometimes do provide employers to recruit right employees, but sometimes the personal information is irrelevant to the post or to an applicant's capacity at all.

In fact, most employers love to know applicants' background for their consideration in hiring procedures; therefore, they hope to have your personal information to understand you better so to put you in the suitable position in accordance with your self-statement if they need you work with them. For instance, if you are one of travel-lover and social type persons, an employer will know you are potentially good salesman.

However, the personal information sometimes is irrelevant to the work applied at all. For example, a remote computer engineer needs works at home and employers know nothing about his marriage or interests. A good cook better shows his reputed dishes, rather than his interests of traveling or dancing.

In my viewpoint, I will see what job I apply so to write my personal information or not. It is my privacy and I will write honestly only when it is necessary. I think my professional experience and working performance report should well prove my qualification for the applying job unless the company requires -personal information a must because of bias on marital status or some other reasons.