Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

There are several merits and demerits to sharing personal information with employers. Some people believe that personal information is private and no one should access this kind of information. Others think that giving out this type of information to employers can be useful. From my perspective, every rose is accompanied with thorns, sharing personal information with employers has its own pros and cons.

On the one hand, the majority of people believe that the advantages of sharing personal information with the employer outweigh the disadvantages. The employers will know their employees better so they can choose qualified employees who fit perfectly into their work culture. Nowadays, there are software programs which can predict the character and intelligence of an employee based on their interests and hobbies. The employer with can assess the amount of risk involved in recruiting a particular person with this information. Personal information can be useful in several other ways. For example, I had an accident while I was coming back from my office and my supervisor informed my family immediately after an onlooker called my office via my ID card.

On the other hand, some people believe that sharing private information with employers is of limited use and it feels like giving access to your personal life; hence, it is an unreasonable demand and this information should not be asked. Based on personal experience, some employees especially females are stalked by their colleagues especially males who had access to their personal information. According to Dr. James Band, who is a psychologist in the University of Tehran, “people prefer to keep some information as a secret in their lives and they will be upset when their confidential information is disclosed.”

In conclusion, I firmly believe that giving private information to employers has its advantages and disadvantages. Employers who request the information from their employees have a responsibility to ensure that this data is not misused or shared with a third party without the employees’ consent. In addition, personal information belonging to the employee should be only used for employees’ benefits.