Fewer and fewer young people are choosing to become teachers Why do young people not want to be teachers How this could be changed

Over recent decades, a reduction in the number of graduates choosing to become classroom teachers has been reported. The reasons for this worrying trend clearly need to be analysed, and ways of encouraging university-leavers to enter the teaching profession have to be found.

The fall in popularity of teaching is related to economic and social factors, as well as health concerns. Firstly, salaries paid by schools are comparatively low. Well-qualified graduates can usually earn more by working in the financial sector, industry or even tourism. In addition, teachers no longer benefit from the respect they previously enjoyed. Those working in education used to have the same social status as lawyers, doctors and scientists. This is not now the case. Finally, the job seems extremely unattractive. Potential teachers are put off by the thought of long working hours and disruptive students. It is widely acknowledged that many working in primary schools or secondary education suffer from stress, depression and other mental and emotional conditions.

A range of strategies might be used to arrest this decline. Firstly, Ministers of Education should give teachers a pay-rise or offer financial incentives to newly-qualified recruits or those who prove to be successful. This would make the profession a more attractive proposition. In addition, governments ought to launch awareness-raising campaigns to remind the general public about the importance and value of teachers. This might begin to restore teachers' status as valued citizens. Finally, steps could be taken to reduce the workload of teaching staff and give them powers to discipline poorly-behaved children. This could make teaching a far more pleasant experience.

In conclusion, measures could be introduced to reverse this trend and raise the number of applicants for jobs in schools. However, I am not wildly optimistic that governments will priorities this issue. It seems likely that there will be an ongoing decline in both the quality and the quantity of teachers. From everyone’s perspective, this is a shame.