The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Modern technology has made a rapid growth in the past decade. Where we used to see fewer cars on British roads, according to researchers this count may reach up to 29 million vehicles by the year 2000. This sudden growth in the number of cars has made this problem as one of the most discussed issues of the contemporary era. The following paragraph will highlight my viewpoints on this matter.

The reason why I see eye to eye with the above statement of considering alternative medium to commute other than cars are as follows. First and foremost, the majority of cars are consuming natural resources such as petrol, diesel or CNG. Even though these resources are limited on our earth but no one wants to bother it. Secondly, no one wants to travel using public transport although its a cheaper and cost-effective way of traveling. Therefore the number of cars are increasing day by day. Even we have seen each person of a family is taking their own car to their workplaces or colleges. Which in return is increasing traffic as well as environmental pollution.

The Alternative of this if is we can replace the use of personal cars with auto-rickshaws, trains, and busses, then this can help in the reduction of pollution as well as can control the traffic issues. Finally, a point worth noting is the accidents can also decline using public transports. According to researchers, eighty percent of accidents are because of rash driving. Hence less use of personal cars bring these counts down.

In conclusion, I would like to say cars are good for personal use but not for the environment and for its resources. And it is the responsibility of every nation to take care of our planet. For this international rules could be very useful which can limit the production of cars in each nation. Similarly, encourage them to use other public transports and help in making surrounding green.