Foreign visitors should pay more than local visitors for cultural and historical attractions.

Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, tourism industry has been flourishing across the globe and playing a vital role in the economy and recognition of many countries. It is asserted by some people that overseas visitors should be charged more for their visits to tourist places than localities. I completely agree with this notion and intend to discuss my views in subsequent paragraphs.

On the one hand, one school of thought believes that charging greater from other nationalities would tarnish the image of country. This is because such decisions can promote discrimination on the basis of nationality and visitors may take it as unfair treatment. As a result, people would refrain themselves from coming to such countries. However, it is quite justified that these charges should be less for local people as they have already been paying taxes to government since many years, thereby, deserving subsidiary rates in their native nation. In contrast, if these prices are same for natives then it would be unjustified. Moreover, this practice is being followed successfully by many countries in the world such as Dubai and Singapore, and still these countries are very much popular among tourists.

On the other hand, I endorse the concept of charging higher amount from foreign visitors. The prominent reason is that preserving and maintaining these monuments required a lot of money, and it should be arranged for preservation process. Demanding some extra amount, not only use for the maintenance, but also can play crucial role to boost economy of a nation. For instance, Thailand`s 80% of the economy dependent upon tourism and travel and if such countries start giving concession to all visitors then there can be devastating situation for them. In addition to it, providing international facilities to tourists is not 'everyone`s cup of tea', instead, a well managed structured system is necessary for the upkeep of such famous sites. It is due to financial resources that government can provide international grade amenities such as tourist guides, translators and brochures to tourists, which is another important component to attract right audience and uplift tourism industry.

In conclusion, although it could be seemed a challenging decision to charge extra fee from global travelers, yet it is essential step to keep the glory of historical buildings as well as to boost economy and provide world class services to visitors.