Freshwater has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem.

What causes of the increased demand, and what measures can governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

There has always been a lack of freshwater in some areas of the world. Undoubtedly, dramatically increased demand has made this an international issue. Nonetheless, accurate measures by governments and people could solve the problem.

There are ample of reasons behind the growing demand for the water. The main cause for this is, unstoppable growth in population. Today, there are 7.5 billion people are living on the earth. Although, earth is comprising of 70% water and 30% land, only 2%of 70% is mineral water. And, that is why there is a scarcity of water in most of the areas of the planet. What is more, in day to day life of a human being we use a lot of water. In Australia, Melbourne, average usage of water per household is 250 liters per day, for example, surveyed by government authority. Besides, another cause is intense use of water in growing industries. As per unites nations data, in industrialized nations industries consume more than half of the water available for human use.

To tackle this crisis governments and people should take desperate actions and ought to work in hand in hand. Governments ought to impose high tariff on the industries for the excess usage of water, as a result it would restrain people from using water relentlessly. Moreover, similar to Singapore government every government could give incentives and grants who would hit the acceptable usage of water, consequently, it will encourage people to use water carefully. Whereas on individual basis person must use water carefully, otherwise next generation will be at disadvantage soon.

To conclude, it is apparent that there are many factors which increases the demand of water, but also there are heaps of solutions to tackle this problem. I believe this measures will work in favor of mankind to conserve and save water.