In the future, it may be scientifically possible for people to live for 150 years. This is a largely negative development with dangerous effects on our society.

Do you agree with this viewpoint?

To live a long life has been a dream for countless years. Yet if science delivers this development to humankind, it could prove to be a disaster for life on earth. This essay will argue that living a longer life is a negative development for both individuals and for society as a whole.

Those people who support the idea of living a longer life argue that there are significant advantages such as more time for a quality lifestyle and for achieving personal goals. (Argument against Jin Tao’s viewpoint) However, in my view, there are other more important issues such as poor quality of life due to ill health and limited world resources, which need to be considered.

For the individual quality of life, living for one hundred and fifty years might be more of a liability than an advantage. If people lived to an extreme age, their body organs could start to deteriorate and they may feel unhealthy for many years. They may also have to live with long periods of illness such as arthritis, which is common among older people.

From a more practical point of view, problems could occur when increasing numbers of older people begin to rely on the welfare system. We have already seen a preview of this happening in Japan, where a small number of young people have to pay more and more tax to support an increasing older population. In addition, there could be a serious decline in world resources if people lived longer. As it is, there is barely enough water for the present population of the world.

Therefore, I strongly agree with the statement that living for one hundred and fifty years would be a negative and dangerous development for both individuals and for our planet.